A Voice Calls in the Darkness

I hear a voice that calls my name, to which I answer,
“Who calls? Who asks for me?”
There is no reply, the voice just calls, it does not answer
“Save me! Save me! I am dying.”
I turn, the darkness greets me, wraps me in its icy embrace.
Shadows dance and beckon to me
I reach out with my hands to help, grasping futilely at empty space I fall;
The floor grabs me, holds me, I cannot rise.

My eyes open, there is my pillow,
my bedroom so familiar.
The dream fades away into the darkness of the night.
Although my dreams torment me,
I seek to sleep again and dream once more.
For in this life, dreams are the only way the dead can call to us.

Bella

Leave a Reply

