Damon and Elsbeth

My story continues, please don’t steal it.

Damon hated Elsbeth on sight. She was fresh out of the academy, a skinny little short thing, looking like a strong wind would take her out. It was no surprise they were assigned to work together. He grumbled to his buddies about having to ‘babysit’ the ‘little girl rookie’.

“Why couldn’t I have gotten that tall leggy blonde? Then at least I would have had something to look at.”

After their shift ended, Elsbeth went home to the apartment she shared with Gerri. Damon went to the bar to hang out with his fellow officers and report.

“She cold as ice, never smiles. I think maybe she said 5 words to me today. And she’s obsessively neat. She cleaned the squad car, my shotgun, it’s spotless. When I said something, she said, ‘It was dirty.'”

Three weeks later a dirtbag got the jump on Damon in an alley, Elsbeth appeared with her shotgun, planted her feet and leveled the shotgun at his chest. The dirtbag took one look at her face and decided to put his gun down. After Damon cuffed him, he noticed that Elsbeth was actually pouting.

“Oh cheer up little girl, you’ll get a chance to shoot somebody.” That evening he showed up at her apartment with a bottle of bourbon and an 8-week old female pug. He had tied a purple ribbon around the pup’s neck. It was the start of a friendship.

Elsbeth named the pug Lavender, they shared the bottle of bourbon. Time passed and Damon was promoted to Detective and assigned to Homicide. Elsbeth became a sharpshooter in the Special Weapons and Tactical Response Unit. She still cleaned Damon’s weapons and most evenings were spent with his files spread out on her bed. He reviewed witness statements and crime scene photos while she hung out on the fire escape smoking cigarettes and shooting the stray cats with paint balls.

Tonight was different though, they had been to the funeral of a fellow officer. Detective Sargent Drakko had been murdered at his home. After the funeral Damon stopped to pick up a file before driving Elsbeth home. He set the file down in her kitchen while he poured both of them a drink.

Elsbeth opened the file, she started to organize it, she was obsessively neat.

“Is this Drakko’s case?”

“No it was a case he was working on when he got murdered. But he was killed the same way as this guy, we think the same person committed both crimes.”

“Holy shit.” Elsbeth’s voice sounded strange.

Damon turned to look at her, “You know something I don’t, I would appreciate you telling me.”

“The other night Gerri was staring at a crime scene photo, this crime scene. A photo that I don’t see here.”

At that moment Gerri walked in, Elsbeth quickly closed the file and slid it under the newspaper. She turned her face away from Gerri. “Hello Damon, fancy meeting you here.” Gerri really didn’t like Damon, and tonight of all nights she didn’t want him around.

“Hey Gerri, sorry about Bob. Who’s working on his case?”

“Don’t know, I gotta take a shower.”

As soon as she was out of the room Elsbeth grabbed the file and Damon by the elbow, she dragged him to the door.

“You have to leave, NOW.”

“You should come with me, it’s not safe here with her.”

“I’ll be fine, you’re the one whose in danger. Watch your back, be very careful.” Elsbeth shoved Damon out the door. She slid to the floor her back against the door. She thought back over the time she had known Gerri and realized that as bad as things had been before, they were about to get much worse. She was still sitting on the floor when Gerri came out of the shower.

“Gerri, we have to talk.”

“It’s Laci, she’s back.”

“No Gerri, it’s not Laci, tell me what you did.”

“I didn’t do anything, I told you Laci is back. I didn’t want to tell you before because I knew you would be mad she was here. After all we agreed that if I lived here Laci had to stay away, but she’s my sister.”

“Gerri, stop it, tell me the truth”

“I am, it’s Laci, I didn’t do anything.”

“It can’t be Laci, Gerri.” Elsbeth took a deep breath and faced Gerri, “Laci is dead, you know she’s dead, now tell me what you did.”

Leave a Reply

